Valdez wins Denali Conference Wrestling Tournament

By Tony Gorman

At last year’s Denali Conference Wrestling Tournament, Valdez had more individual champions but not enough manpower to win the team title.  That wasn’t the case this year.  Bucs collected seven individual titles en route to the conference championship in Glennallen over the weekend. 

Cole Phillips (113), Cody Greene (126), Keefe McIntosh (138), Brian Allen (145), Adam Downing (152), Isaac Deaton (160), and Austin Rake (170) all won the respective weight classes at the tournament.  Trevor Norris (132), Chase Smith (145), Colbin Hansen (152), Chase Smith (145), and Kalen McIntosh (160) turned in second place finishes.

The tournament host didn’t disappoint for the home crowd.  Glennallen is sending five grapplers to the State Tournament.  Gavin Maslen won his second straight conference title in the 98-pound class by pinning teammate Jared Virgin.  Joseph White pinned Eielson’s Keyan Kincade to win the 182-pound class.   Tony Delaquito and Jody Rhodes finished runners-up in the 113-pound and 220-pound classes respectively.

Cordova collected two individual titles at the Kachemak Conference Tournament in Nikiski.  Josh Hamberger won the 160-pound class by pinning Tannen Berry of Seward.  Cody Howard won a 10-3 decision over Nikiski’s John McCormick to take the 182-pound class.

The 123A State Tournament takes place this weekend at A-C-S in Anchorage.


What did you think of this article?

  • No trackbacks exist for this post.
  • No comments exist for this post.
Leave a comment

Submitted comments are subject to moderation before being displayed.


 Email (will not be published)

Your comment is 0 characters limited to 3000 characters.